Free Consultation / 24 Hours a Day - (614) 500-3836

Practice Areas

Columbus Assault Lawyer

Charged with Assault? Build a Strong Defense. Call LHA for a Free Consultation: (614) 500-3836.

Assault charges are common in Central Ohio and can seriously complicate your life. Assault can range from a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail to a first-degree felony.

“I am very happy for the work you have done to settle this case. I will definitely refer you to family and friends If they need representation.”

Luftman, Heck & Associates client

A violent conviction for assault can seriously impact your criminal record as well as your reputation. If you’re charged with assault in Franklin County, or anywhere in central Ohio you need a skilled Columbus assault attorney on your side.

The consequences for assault include jail time, fines, employment problems, and child custody issues. To schedule a free, initial consultation about how to handle an assault charge, contact Luftman, Heck & Associates today at (614) 500-3836.

Assault in Columbus, Ohio

Every day in Columbus, people are charged with assault offenses. These charges stem from any number of situations and include domestic violence and other heated encounters. Assault can range from a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail to a first-degree felony punishable by up to 11 years in prison.

To be charged with assault, you must have done one of the following:

  • Knowingly caused physical harm to someone else or their unborn child
  • Recklessly caused serious physical harm to someone else or their unborn child

There are also other assault-related charges with penalties that vary depending on the severity of the situation:

What Types of Assault Charges Exist in Ohio | LHA





Have you been accused of assault? A handful of offenses fall under an assault category. Ohio assault laws provide for several different types of assault charges.

Columbus Assault Penalties

Assault

Misdemeanor Assault
This is a misdemeanor of the first degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A jail sentence of up to 180 days
    • If the victim was pregnant, you will face a mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days
  • At most, a fine of $1,000
Assault against a functionally impaired person by a caretaker
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of six to 18 months
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • If the victim was pregnant, your prison term may be mandatory
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
Second (or more) assault against a functionally impaired person by a caretaker
This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of nine months to three years
    • If the victim was pregnant, your prison term may be mandatory
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
Assault against a police officer or investigator, firefighter, or emergency medical person while they were performing their duties
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of six to 18 months
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • If the victim was pregnant, your prison term may be mandatory
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
The above, but you caused serious harm
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A mandatory prison sentence ranging from one year to 18 months
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
Assault against an officer or employee of a public child services agency or private child placing agency, in association with their carrying out official duties
This is a felony of the fifth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of six months to one year
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • If the victim was pregnant, your prison term may be mandatory
  • At most, a fine of $2,500
With a prior conviction for this
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of six to 18 months
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • If the victim was pregnant, your prison term may be mandatory
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
Everything else
If any of the following is true, it’s a felony of the fifth degree:

  • It happens at a prison or juvenile hall, and is directed toward someone employed there or a visitor
  • Same as above, but off-grounds
  • It happens at a local jail, and is directed toward someone employed there or a visitor
  • Same as above, but off-grounds
  • The victim is a teacher, school administrator or school bus driver and it occurred at a school, on school grounds, in a school building, on a school bus, or anywhere off-grounds where they would be required to do their job, such as on a field trip

The penalties are as follows:

  • A prison term of six months to one year
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • If the victim was pregnant, your prison term may be mandatory
  • At most, a fine of $2,500

Other Assault Consequences

In addition to jail and fines, an assault conviction can lead to issues with:

  • Maintaining your current employment
  • Licensure issues in some professions
  • Difficulty getting a good job in the future
  • Difficulty and possible denial in immigration and naturalization proceedings

Buying a Gun with an Assault Conviction

You are allowed to buy a gun if it is a misdemeanor assault charge, but if it’s a felony, you won’t be able to.

Simply put, if you are convicted of an assault offense, it will be on your criminal background for the rest of your life. No matter what the circumstances were in your case, you run the risk of being considered a violent offender for the rest of your life. Therefore, it is critical that you give your assault charge the level of importance it deserves.

Defending Against Columbus Assault Charges

Luftman, Heck & Associates takes a two-pronged approach to all assault cases. First and foremost, you will need a bond. Generally, you will be arrested when charged with assault. If not, the charge(s) will be filed as a warrant and you will have to turn yourself in. We will represent you at your initial bond hearing and look to secure a favorable bond and your release from jail.

Thereafter we will figure out what mistakes the police or detectives made, whether the prosecuting witness is fabricating the charges and what other legal issues can be raised on your behalf.

We do this by requesting discovery from the prosecutor and interviewing witnesses. The discovery will generally consist of police reports, additional investigative notes, pictures, and recorded interviews. As our client, you will receive a copy of everything received from the prosecutor for your review.

Based on the legal weaknesses in the case and any other mitigating factors, we will negotiate the best possible plea available with the prosecutor for you to consider in resolving your case.

If your case cannot be resolved satisfactorily with a plea, it would then proceed to a motion hearing (a hearing where the judge issues a ruling on an evidentiary issue) or a trial to the judge or jury, depending on the circumstances.

For more than ten years, our team has successfully represented clients on all types of assault charges. That extensive previous experience will enable us to better help you.

Charged with Assault? Contact LHA

If you’ve been charged with any of these offenses, it’s important to know what you’re up against. If you have any questions left unanswered by this page, or if you need a competent, experienced assault attorney to fight for you in court, please contact us at (614) 500-3836 or via email at [email protected].

Assault Resources

Talk to a Columbus Assault Lawyer Today

For over a decade, the Columbus criminal defense lawyers at LHA have successfully represented clients on criminal offenses ranging from minor misdemeanors to first-degree felonies. That extensive previous experience will enable us to better help you.

If you have any questions about the material or if you need an experienced, competent attorney, call the Columbus criminal defense attorneys at Luftman, Heck & Associates at (614) 500-3836.

★★★★★
I can FINALLY breathe easy now. I want to thank Mr. Bowen and all the attorneys that helped me with this case.

Read Our Reviews