Free Consultation / 24 Hours a Day - (614) 500-3836

Practice Areas

Felony & Aggravated Assault

Accused of Felony Assault? Call LHA for a free, confidential consultation: (614) 500-3836.

Causing or attempting to cause harm to another person or to an unborn child is considered an assault in Ohio. When the alleged conduct is more severe, it also carries harsher criminal charges and penalties.

If you or a loved one are charged with felony assault or aggravated assault, contact the Columbus defense attorneys with Luftman, Heck, and Associates right away. To schedule a free, initial consultation, contact us at (614) 500-3836.

Felony Assault Charges

To be charged with felony assault in Ohio, you must do one of the following:

  • Cause serious physical harm to someone or their unborn child
  • Cause physical harm to someone or their unborn child with a deadly weapon or dangerous artillery

In addition, you can also be charged with felonious assault if you know that you’re HIV-positive and do any of the following:

  • Have any sort of sexual contact with someone else without disclosing your status beforehand
  • Have any sort of sexual contact with someone who lacks the mental capacity to understand the significance of that fact that you’re HIV-positive
  • Have any sort of sexual contact with someone under 18 who’s not your spouse

Felonious Assault Penalties

When the above criteria are met, assault becomes a second-degree felony, punishable with a prison term of two to eight years. If the victim was pregnant, your prison term may be mandatory and include a fine of $7,500 to $15,000. If the deadly weapon used was a vehicle, your license will also be suspended for three years to life.

If the victim was a police officer or investigator, it is a felony of the second degree and carries a prison term of three to 11 years.

Aggravated Assault in Columbus

To commit aggravated assault, you must have knowingly done one of the following while under the influence of “sudden passion or […] a sudden fit of rage,” provoked by the victim:

  • Caused serious physical harm to someone or their unborn child
  • Cause physical harm to someone or their unborn child with a deadly weapon or dangerous artillery

Aggravated Assault Penalties

This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties a prison term of six to 18 months. In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments. However, if the victim was pregnant, this may be mandatory. At most, the fine will be $5,000. If the victim was a police officer or investigator, aggravated assault is a felony of the third degree and carries a prison term of nine months to three years and a fine of $5,000 to $10,000.

Talk to a Defense Lawyer Right Away

These are serious charges with harsh penalties. If you or a loved one have been charged with aggravated or felonious assault, you need an experienced lawyer as soon as possible. Let us answer your questions and work to find the best possible outcome.

Call the Columbus criminal defense attorneys at Luftman, Heck & Associates at (614) 500-3836 for a free and confidential consultation.

★★★★★
I can FINALLY breathe easy now. I want to thank Mr. Bowen and all the attorneys that helped me with this case.

Read Our Reviews